Skip to main content

Aviation society award honors renowned pilot

| ,
Written by: Alexa Stone
Tony Jannus Aviation Society banquet 2018
Among the event sponsors were Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc. (VHB) and TLC Engineering for Architecture.

We were pleased to see many friends and colleagues at the Distinguished Tony Jannus Aviation Society banquet. This year’s event, held in Tampa on December 13th honored Captain Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger. On January 15, 2009, Captain Sullenberger achieved a historic emergency water landing in the Hudson River.

Benoist Airboat
Members of the Florida Aviation Society sponsored and constructed this 1914 Benoist Airboat.

The Tony Jannus Award was named for the pilot of the first commercial flight, which occurred in 1914. At the banquet, Captain Sullenberger accepted the award and delivered an excellent speech!

Bill McGrew, Senior Director, Airports, GAI Consultants
Many thanks to Bill McGrew, Senior Director, Airports, GAI Consultants for the opportunity to attend this banquet!

This was the 55th year that the award has recognized extraordinary accomplishments in the commercial aviation. Notable previous winners have included Capt. Edward V. Rickenbacker, Lt. Gen. James Doolittle, William Powell Lear, Brig. Gen. Charles “Chuck” Yeager and Sir Richard Branson.